Welcome!

6/28/2013

 
" Thanks to the teachers who instilled in me such a love for English that I'm perpetually mortified when reading the Internet!"

This blog will be used as means for open communication between peers and myself, your educator. We will specifically use this blog to share ideas, questions and comments about the texts we are studying during each of our units. 

This is a safe space where negative comments are disapproved. I encourage you to share the thoughts and opinions you have - do not hesitate for fear of saying something "stupid".

There are no stupid questions!

Enjoy this form of communication and go with it!
Ms. Roberts
7/3/2013 02:48:35 am

This is where you will want to add a comment! Introduce yourself!

Cherish
7/3/2013 06:46:18 am

My name is Cherish Sawkins. I am 29 years old and have decided to go back to school for medicine. My plan for school is to become a general practitioner or pediatrician. I was born in Brantford, Ontario but have moved around a lot. I am the oldest of five children, I love it but at times can be challenging. I am passionate about work and travel. I have traveled a lot in my 20's and I wish to travel around the world and help others in need.

Lauren Roberts
7/4/2013 09:03:22 am

Thank you Cherish! I think that is a fantastic goal to have and with your determined attitude, you should be successful!

Karen
7/3/2013 12:14:07 pm

Hi my name is Karen Le ^.^ This will be my second time in summer school to get ahead. I really want to be a special events director or open up my own cafe when I am older. My back up job would be becoming a music teacher at an elementary school. If you get a chance to know me better in the short month of July, you will realize I am super Asian and kind of weird. I really enjoy reading, swimming, badminton, practicing my instruments, and doing other Asian things. I also like meeting new people so please do not hesitate to start a conversation with me.

Ms Roberts
7/4/2013 09:04:46 am

A special events director would a thrilling career! I like your open and friendly attitude.

Jade
7/3/2013 09:41:45 am

Hello, I'm Jade Biggs. Recently finished grade 11 english and decided to take the summer course to take personal finance instead next year. I'm very big on drama, love to act, its an internal passion of mine. I also love to sing and listen to music, but if I start singing, don't judge because I am horrible.
I used to want to be an elementary school teacher because it's freaky how well I am with children (I'm a child at heart). But I realized I didn't like it very much so now I am hoping to become a Phys ed teacher because I like to be fit and I'm still aparantly good at teaching others. My hobbies include food and tumbling (as in Tumblr.com), as well as hanging out with friends, going to parties, biking and swimming. I also like to meet new people so don't hesitate to start up a conversation with me. P.S. I like disney references,puns, and food.

Ms Roberts
7/4/2013 09:05:50 am

I look forward to hearing you sing at some point during our time together! Don't fret; I will never judge...none can be worse than the singing in the shower that can sometimes be heard in my household.

Chris
7/3/2013 07:51:36 pm

Hey, my name is Chris Nichols. I am returning from grade 12 english to get a better grade so I can attend University for music. I play around 5 instruments and sing a little, but I am far from good at it. My main instruments are piano and guitar, which I practice a lot and make it hard to focus on things I should be doing, like english. I don't really know how I am going to use music to make a lifestyle out of it. Figured I would figure that out in university, whether it be orchestration, performance or teaching. I am human so I do like other things like food and cats. I like to hangout with friends and go swimming.

Ms Roberts
7/4/2013 09:06:49 am

I think it is fascinating that you can play 5 instruments! Good for you!

Jade
7/4/2013 11:53:12 am

you got me at food and cats...because that is my life. we should be good friends :D

Nadiia
7/4/2013 08:47:47 am

Katarina Selinger
7/4/2013 01:45:32 pm

Hello my name is Katarina Selinger. i have lived in brantford my whole life. i am currently 18 and i love sports. I took gr 12 University english so that I can go off to Brock University for the upcoming september. I am going there for hockey and am taking sports management. After my 4 years there i am heading off to Edmonton to become a denturist. i want to own my own denture clinic and run a elite gym on the side as well. :)

Katarina Selinger
7/4/2013 01:48:12 pm

oh and i am friendly and open too, :) so don't be afraid to talk to me.!

Usama Tanveer
7/4/2013 02:09:44 pm

Hi my name is usama tanveer but my friends call me tan. I moved to Brantford two years ago from Nova Scotia. i just finished grade 11 and looking forward for a great year. After high school i want to go to university for heath science and then med school to specialize in radiology. i love sports especially soccer and cricket.

Cherish
7/5/2013 05:11:31 am

"The Lottery"

In my opinion I think that the sacrifice of a human being to ensure a good harvest is not only disturbing but cruel. Society has been so caught up on traditions and beliefs of a higher power that we should think about that greater power in what it gave us to begin with!!!
These traditions should consider that the most valuable gift that was given, is life itself.

Amardeep Cheema
7/5/2013 11:10:43 am

Hi, my name is Amardeep Cheema and I recently finished grade 11. I want to go to university for business after I am done high school. I like participating in sports and I love painting. I look forward to having a good time at summer school.

Jaydon Melo
7/6/2013 03:26:06 am

Greetings, my name is Jaydon Melo. I attend Paris District High School and primarily study there. Though i'm new to your class; I am no stranger summer school and it's extreme magnitude of class work. Hobbies that I like to fill my spare time with are: video games, soccer, exercising, and watching opinionated news casts. I have dreams to attend a post secondary school, in which I can provide myself a comfortable life in the future. I look forward to learning new material in the coming month!

Brianna Zekl
7/6/2013 10:27:50 am

Hi, my name is Brianna Zekl, I live in Paris and am going into grade 12 next year. I decided to take a summer school course to get ahead in the upcoming year and also English is not my strongest subject so I hope that this course will help me focus on it a bit more then I would in the regular school year. I am thinking about going to university for kinesiology in hopes to become a physiotherapist but am not ruling out going into chemistry or math. I try and think of myself as a very active person, I play AA Ringette for Cambridge Turbos but have also played for other centers, and I also play soccer for Paris F.C. I hope to get to know a little bit about everyone during this upcoming month!

Nadiia
7/6/2013 10:44:20 am

Hello! my name is Nadiia Moroz! I moved to Canada and Brantford one year ago. I came from Ukraine. Im going to grade 12 next year, to do my school year more easy i take English grade 12 in summer school. I want to learn English better and go to University to study Psychology.

Nadiia
7/6/2013 11:14:49 am

Probably, this story shows how people believe in ritual and tradition and how its can an effect a human life. Even now, many people are doing a weird things only because its is the part of their tradition or cult. For me this story had a very tragic and unexpected end. Perhaps, "The Loterry" can teach us think before we are doing something, is it wrong or not, can its make us and people around more happy, would its help us. We should answer for this and many others question before we are acting and belive in any rituals or tradition.

Katarina Selinger
7/7/2013 09:24:07 pm

The short story, Lottery had a very weird twist in it. Must people would think if you were reading something about a Lottery, it would have a happy ending to it. The ending in this short story was completely the opposite; winning the lottery meant you were going to be stoned to death. I thought it was an inappropriate story and I did not like the ending one bit. A poor wife and mother of 2 , had "randomly" been selected to win the lottery. Her own towns people and friends would stone her to death, even her sons were expected to join as if it were a normal thing to do. Sacrificing your own friends or family because of tradition is cruel and outrages. I believe Traditions in the affect of sacrificing one another should be banned and should never be aloud to happen. its a cruel and barbaric thing to do to our own kind. I feel like the moral of this story was to show you how stupid and un fair some societies are, to show you how other live and do things in their own town. Traditions are big things for some cultures and communities so we as individuals who don't sacrifice in our community need to be thankful and enjoy life as it is and not let others choose our way out of it.

Jagtaj Matharoo
7/8/2013 10:28:27 am

Hey my names Jagtaj Matharoo and I go to North Park. I play basketball and volleyball for the school team. In September I will be entering grade 12. I took this course in summer school so I wouldn't have to take it during the normal school year to make room for other courses. My goal is to improve on my english skills for post secondary education and expand my knowledge in the field of literature while having a positive academic experience. After high school I will be going to Aruba to attend a private medical school and from there become a physician.

Kaelyn Toews
7/9/2013 08:25:37 am

Little late, but since this is my first time getting on the site I thought I should catch up! My name is Kaelyn Toews, I am usually very outgoing, I just turned 19 a couple months ago and have recently graduated from North Park. Although I am graduated, I decided to take university english this summer to better my chances at getting into a university in september 2014. I hope to go to a school that is somewhere out west on a hockey scholarship. I currently play junior hockey and have played since I was six. Along with hockey I've played almost every sport you could think of, but two other favorites that I have played competitively are rugby and soccer. I hope to become a recreational therapist and go as far as I can with my hockey in the future!

7/9/2013 10:36:58 am

Hello, I'm Nicholas Boyce, I go to BCI and am taking ENG4U to get ahead for my next year in grade 12, as I don't want to stick around school for an extra year. Especially as I want to go to McMaster for a long time and get me a PhD in Medicine of some kind, not 100% sure yet,
Anyways, I enjoy baseball, football, hockey, Game of Thrones, and video games. I have a dog named Jackson, and am the eldest of four,


Comments are closed.

    Author

    I grew up in small town outside a big city in Western Quebec. I moved to Southwestern Ontario during my last year of elementary school. I currently reside in the same small town where I attended high school, graduated and began my teaching career!

    Archives

    July 2013
    June 2013

    Categories

    All